Upper Chesapeake Adventure


I just got back from the start of a Chesapeake adventure that involved neither a canoe, kayak or  Skipjack.  Recently, I spent a week in the local body repair shop known as The Upper Chesapeake Medical Center.  I begin chemo in a few days and with a little hope and prayer, I’ll be back in the mix soon.

I had to leave behind my beloved patio on the Rumsey Island canal for now but fully intend to return there soon. I will miss the visits of the Canada Geese each day and those beautiful sunsets…even have my own leaf-peeping spot when the leaves begin to turn their gorgeous colors in the Fall.

The main purpose of this little “snipit” is to tell you of the wonderful care I received from everyone I came in contact with in the ER – beginning with Dennis, my nurse. As busy as  he was, he kept me informed of what was happening and made sure I was as comfortable as I could be, under the circumstances.  My stay lasted for two days and my treatment was outstanding both days.

Then we come to the “Sweethearts of the First Floor”, where I spent 7 days with the nicest girls I have ever had the privilege to know in my 82 year journey on this planet.  Their smiles and laughter along with their pleasant manner made my stay almost a pleasure. They were all special but everyone has a favorite, I’m sure,  and I especially remember Kelly, my “Jersey Girl”.  If I were 40 years younger, I am sure I would have proposed to her at least once  by now.  (So glad you enjoyed your visit to Kilgore Falls, Kelly, and good luck on that shark fishin’ and success in anything else you ever do.)

Then there were all the Jennifers who contributed to my tender care.  Must have been a half-dozen of them, all told,  and all  cute as a ”button”. as we old folks say. I suppose they were all born during those years when Jennifer was the most popular name.  And then there was Ashley from White Marsh who always seemed to be close by whenever I  needed help in some way or just some ice or my ice water.  Hope all your dreams come true Ashley, and life is good to you always. So many other girls,  too many names for this old mind to wrap around, your tender treatment and care will forever be remembered.

And going back for a bit to the very beginning of this tale, the men and women of the Joppa-Magnolia Volunteer Fire Company who hauled this carcass to the ER last Monday, early in the morning,  they were very professional and efficient.  Thank you all so much for your help.  I was active with the Volunteers at Kingsville for nearly 20 years so I know how they can be taken for granted and seldom acknowledged.

I am now staying with one of my sons and his wife as chemo gets underway and will let you know from time to time how I am doing. I am really thankful for all the prayers and good wishes from my blog followers. This is just another bump in the road and with your support, it won’t upset the “apple cart” too much.  If you have any comments, I’d love to hear them.

Don Langrehr

Are you receiving your free digital subscription to The Zone Magazine?  If not, click here!

 

 

About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Thoughts for Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upper Chesapeake Adventure

  1. Anonymous says:

    Don….. While I am not happy you needed a trip to the hospital it sounds like you had wonderful professionals taking great care of you!! Once upon a time my stepfather’s Aunt and Uncle were very active with Joppa Magnolia Fire Department. So many kind and wonderful people. I hope you chemo treatments go well and you are back to writing for The Zone SOON!! Your description of the nurses is exactly the way my Grandpa would describe them….so I love reading what you write 🙂 May I suggest you bring a journal or someway to keep writing with you during your treatments it might be a great way to pass the time!

  2. Pingback: Welcome back Don! | The Zone Magazine

Leave a Reply

