Mom on a Mission is back with ideas for summer fun!


photo courtesy of Laura Tinker

It’s SUMMER!!  I admit it I love summer now as much as I did as a kid.  The idea of freedom from schedules and millions of commitments appeals to me for so many reasons.  I also have to admit to being “one of those Mom’s” who LOVES having the extra time with my kids.  I know many of you dread summer and, for me, hearing “I’m Bored!” from my kids is enough to set me over the edge too.  So what is the answer?  Read my “Mommy on a Mission” column this summer.

This series of blogs and articles sort of started as a happy accident.  My kids and I went to a fun place last summer and I suggested The Zone write something about it.  Next thing I know I am writing about the fun places I take my kids and sharing with our readers how to really enjoy the summer.  Some of the places are geared more towards kids but many will also work for those who are still kids at heart 🙂

I did a lot of planning over the school year in order to have fun ideas for this summer and so I could also share them with you.  I highly suggest going on-line and requesting the FREE vacation brochures from your state and the neighboring ones too.  By doing this I have a folder FULL of ideas and then just narrow down those ideas to the ones that really interest us and that are close enough for a day trip.  To make it extra fun I try to arrange for friends to join us on some of our adventures too.

Last summer we had a great time and some of the places we visited are on our MUST DO list for this summer too.  In case you missed it check out my article about Lake Tobias.  We had a great time there and can’t wait to go again this year.

Another place we went and had a GREAT time was The Turkey Hill Experience.  Ever since we went there we have enjoyed hunting down our new favorite iced tea and trying many different flavors of our new favorite flavors of ice cream.

When we went to Turkey Hill we were able to get a discounted ticket to the Clock and Watch Museum and while I was hesitant at first about whether this would be a FUN trip for my kids I was very pleasantly surprised.  You can read all about that experience here.

I look forward to bringing you more new ideas for fun this summer.  I hope you will give some of them a try.  If you give one of my suggestions a try or know of a place we should visit, please e-mail me at mwieland@thezonemag.com.

Michele Evans Wieland

Are you receiving your free digital subscription to The Zone Magazine?  If not, click here!

About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Frugal Fridays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

