Feeling a little green? Maybe you should give it a try.


What’s your drink of choice?  For me… Green Tea.

In the past few years, green tea has become a very popular drink for many.  I, personally, drink it for the taste – I love to brew a large pitcher of it, put it in the fridge and enjoy it cold with a slice of lemon and a bit of Stevia.  Many others get past what could be considered a bitter taste and drink it for the health benefits that supposedly accompany the beverage.  What are these benefits, you ask?  That’s what I’m going to share this week!

First, and probably one of the most popular reasons for the attraction to green tea would be its ability to “rev up” one’s metabolism.  Who couldn’t use this benefit?  I know I wouldn’t turn it down.  Green tea is a good way to get EGCG (epigallocatechin gallate), an antioxidant called a catechin, which is said to speed up metabolism/help burn fat.  It hasn’t yet been determined just how much green tea we need to do this, but I once read that 3 glasses a day could speed up your metabolism as much as 10%.  Not sure if it’s true, but I do like the taste, so if those benefits come with it… I’ll take ‘em.

In addition to increasing metabolism, the powerful antioxidants (cathechins) in green tea have been said to scavenge free radicals that can damage DNA and contribute to cancer, blood clots, and atherosclerosis.  Again, who really knows how much you have to consume to reap these benefits.  However, every little bit may help and I’ll take all the help I can get.

You can purchase green tea in many different varieties – good old-fashioned tea bags, premixed/premade with flavoring, fresh brewed at Starbucks, etc.  I personally prefer a brand called Yogi, and as stated above, I brew it then chill it to enjoy.  I tend to stay away from the premade brands.  No offense, Lipton, but I don’t feel like I’m getting the tea in its purest form.  Yes, they may taste sweeter, but remember that generally comes some artificial flavoring.

Could this be your new spring and summer beverage?  Give it a shot!  Like Pink says, “Raise your glass!”  Cheers, folks.

Carri Nelsen of Gold’s Gym in Shrewsbury.

Got questions for Carri?  E-mail them to blogs@TheZoneMag.com.

About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Wellness Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

