Five days of eating clean!


I’ve written about “Eating Clean” a number of times before but, if you’re not familiar with clean eating, it’s an amazing diet (meaning lifestyle) that can help get you to your ideal body weight.  As you know, if you’ve read my blogs before, it’s about your diet, not about dieting. 

If you want a quick and easy way to have your family eating clean, here are five quick and simple ideas for you.  This was the menu at the Nelsen house last week and I have to say, after a few initial grumblings from the hubby, he was satisfied with his lower weight, just by the end of the week.  Cut out the junk, eat the good stuff and you can help but makes some gains (while seeing the losses).

We started the week with fresh fish.  I went to Graul’s, bought a cod filet, which I simple baked.  Simple baked?  It’s simple… drizzle and rub in some extra virgin olive oil, grind on some (McCormick Grinders) lemon/black pepper and sprinkle with a bit of sea salt.  Bake at 350 for 25 minutes or until flaky.  I used brown rice (you can add in some fresh herbs, if you like) and grilled asparagus as my sides.  Delicious and nutritious.  My five-year old even enjoyed this one… Well, minus the asparagus.

Tuesday we went the chicken route.  This is one of my staples and we eat this multiple times each week.  Simple grilled chicken on a bed of Spring Mix and romaine.  I add some cucumbers and tomatoes. Sometimes I even get a little more creative.  I prefer to use just balsamic vinegar (not vinaigrette) to dress the salad, but you can do many other things, like lemon or use extra virgin olive oil and vinegar with some added seasonings.  Just be careful of your dressing.  It can make the salad, but it can also break it by adding too much sugar, too many calories, etc.  This, again is one of my faves!  Add a multigrain roll as your carb and you’re good to go.  Yummy and good for you, too!

Wednesday… AH, Wednesday!  I went a little out of my own, personal comfort zone.  I actually touched a bird!  If you have a fear of birds, like I do, you know this is a big deal, even when it’s not alive and doesn’t have that beak or those talons.  I bought a fresh turkey breast, rubbed it with olive oil, sea salt and black pepper and baked it.  Thank goodness my husband was home to slice it up.  We had a side of baked sweet potatoes – They taste just fine without butter or brown sugar – and steamed brussel sprouts.  My new favorite find is the ready to steam ones at Wegman’s.  They are sliced up and ready to go.  Flavorful, colorful and wholesome!

Thursday was a variation of Tuesday.  I’m not horribly creative and DO love my chicken on a salad.  This time I kicked it up by adding kalamata olives, pepperoncini peppers and some roasted red peppers to the Spring Mix/romaine and grilled chicken.  You can make your own clean greek dressing to add a nice bit of flair.  Top it with a tad bit of feta cheese and you’ll be in heaven.  I try not to eat a great deal of cheese, so just a sprinkle makes me awfully happy.  If you like to include a carb in each meal, I highly recommend pairing this one with half of an Ezekiel pita with a bit of hummus spread on top.  Tasty and healthy!

Finally, Friday… Reward day?  Yes, we rewarded ourselves with the leanest form of meat, bison.  We simple grilled bison filets, had a side of steamed broccoli and cauliflower and I made some quinoa salad, as well.  It felt like a huge reward, yet it was still clean and easy.  Savory and smart, folks!

So, there you have it.  This could be your menu next week.  Five, easy, clean meals to get you moving in the right direction.  My husband wasn’t a believer until he stepped on the scale.  He then had to agree that dieting was the way to live, but managing his diet was much better.

Here’s to healthy eating folks! 

Carri Nelsen of Gold’s Gym in Shrewsbury.

Are you receiving your free digital subscription to The Zone Magazine?  If not, click here!
About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Wellness Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

