A Shop Healthy How-To


How many of us are unhealthy shoppers?  Do you buy on impulse?  Do you go to the grocery store hungry?  Do you buy based on looks?  If you do any of these things, you aren’t being a smart or healthy shopper.   I’ve been guilty of this, in the past, and do have an occasional relapse.  In order to get your shopping in check, I have a few suggestions for you.

First of all, become a meal planner.  This, I have to admit, is my biggest struggle.  I like to eat what I want, when I’m in the mood for it.  It’s very hard for me to say we’re having grilled chicken tonight, turkey meatloaf tomorrow, bison tacos the next night…  What if I’m not hungry for baked cod on Tuesday, when I planned to make it?!?!  Sad to say, I’ve just had to learn to live with it.  I plan our meals and buy accordingly, trying to leave out the extra, unnecessary “stuff”.

With planning, comes another thing I’m not very good at – making a list.  If I had a dime for every time I’ve made a list and then left it at home, I’d be retired and living on the coast somewhere.  Ok, you got me!  Well, at least I’d have a new pair of shoes.  🙂 

Making a list can help us do one thing we are (or at least I am) very good at – impulse purchases.  I can’t even count the number of times I pass something and say to myself, “Man, that looks good.  Maybe we should try it.”  And guess what?  We do!  I make my list, based on the order in which I walk the store, and I stick to that list.  OK, most of the time, anyway.

Walking the store leads me to another great suggestion I was given.  Learn to shop the outskirts of the store and avoid hitting the aisles of the grocery store as much as possible.  Think about it…  What do we find surrounding the aisles?  You walk in and see the fresh produce.  You then head past the fresh meats and seafood.  What do these things have in common?  FRESH!  I’m not saying that having some frozen veggies on hand is a bad thing.  These are good to have on hand, too.

Segue into “what’s on hand”… Make sure you buy some back stock of healthy options that aren’t in the “fresh” category.  I’m always sure to have brown rice , whole grain cereal, healthy baking items, sweet potatoes, etc., in the pantry so if I need to create a healthy meal on the fly, I have what I need.  This is often where the frozen veggies pop in at my house.

Hopefully these few suggestion can help you modify your shopping habits into healthy ones.  In addition, learn how to read labels, never go to the store hungry (I always go right after lunch because I have this luxury) and eat green!  Lots of green veggies and the darker (deeper in color) the better.  If you have any of your own tips to share, please do.  I’m sure our readers will enjoy that.

Happy shopping, folks! 

Carri Nelsen

About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Wellness Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

