Sage advice from a patio


If I am going to be a blogger and maybe offer advice from time to time based on the fact that I have been here longer than you or relay a tale or experience you have not heard before, you should know a little about who is blogging at your door. I have shared the air we breathe for 81 years and have gone from flying an airplane to being confined to a wheelchair and Scooter, and from being married for nearly 60 years to being a widower. Hey, I could feel sorry for myself if I so desired but at this very moment I am sitting on my patio, at my apartment in Joppatowne, watching an Osprey dive on a fish and come up with a struggling White Perch clutched in his talons.

Yesterday I sat here and watched a fisherman who looked older than me (all of us older people think like that), and much to his delight, I saw him catch a very large catfish. Tomorrow, maybe I will see the two chipmunks, who for the summer, live under the air conditioning unit next door and visit the patio on a regular basis. The day after that I could catch sight of Momma Mallard and her twelve ducklings trailing in a straight line behind her looking for tid-bits on the glassy surface of the canal.

I am sure you have heard that old aphorism “When one door closes another opens” At this time in my journey, I am beginning to believe it is more true than not. Life for me after December 22 did sort of a 180. I knew there was that other door waiting to be opened but I just had not found the key yet.

A new friend and a chance conversation unlocked that door and I found another way to contribute my time. We all know that time is the thief of life and maybe, on occasion, I can steal into your life and offer you a smile or a comment on something I have observed from my perch on the patio.

Don's view of Rumsey Island that evening

One evening, not too long ago, I was trying to get photos of a Great Blue Heron that was standing on his stilty legs down the bank from my patio. Suddenly, I looked up to see the western sky over Rumsey Island on fire with what I suppose is Gods version of spectacular. I snapped a few shots, trusting that one of them might convey the feeling that I got when I first saw it. It changed rapidly and in a few short minutes, it went from a mind-blowing red to dull gray and then eventually to an ominous black .

Again, time had taken something from us that will never again be seen exactly as it was observed by those who were there, but it will give us other sights to see that may lift our hearts.

 “Life is just a bowl of cherrys”

Don Langrehr

The Zone Magazine would like to welcome Don Langrehr to our fantastic team of bloggers.  To learn more about him, you can check out his bio on The Bloggers page.   We will also be highlighting him in “Getting to Know…” in the upcoming September issue. 

Give him a warm welcome by posting below or send a message to blogs@thezonemag.com.  We know he’d love to hear from you!

About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Thoughts for Thursday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Sage advice from a patio

  1. Mike says:

    Great post. It’s great to read about how when circumstances in life change we somehow find ways to accommodate and even prosper. Keep up the positive stuff because there is more than enough of the negative to last several lifetimes. Thanks.

  2. Mike says:

    Great post. Looking forward to more positive stuff about how great life can be even in the faced of adversity. Keep your eyes open and your pencil cheap. Thanks.

  3. Brett Behounek says:

    You are amazing! What a good beginning for some great stories. Can’t wait to read them.

  4. Kathy says:

    Don, welcome to blogging! Beware…you’ll find everything you do becoming a “topic” for the blog. Not necessarily a bad thing! Great sunset photo!
    Kathy (Mondays at Maywood)

  5. Jason K says:

    Don,
    I was a big fan of your writing before I met you. I am an even bigger fan now that we had a chance to chill on the “patio” and chat. Keep up the keen observations. You are a special guy with a big heart. Looking forward to next Thursday!
    J.K.

  6. Do you have a Facebook page or Twitter? Would love to follow you there, I’m on my iPhone and love reading your stuff!

  7. Anonymous says:

    Dear Don:
    GREAT JOB!!!!!….Thank you for telling us about this magazine and your new blog….we are looking forward to the next ones….Continued good luck and happiness……

    Stephanie and Frank

  8. Michele Matthews says:

    WOW!! You are an amazing writer and I LOVE all the pictures you are painting!!

    Much Love!!
    Michele

  9. Pingback: The Zone Scores Again – Little Gunpowder Falls | The Zone Magazine

  10. Pingback: Welcome back Don! | The Zone Magazine

  11. Pingback: Farewell to a friend | The Zone Magazine

  12. content says:

    What’s up, all is going fine here and ofcourse every one is sharing information, that’s genuinely good, keep uup writing.

  13. Brandi says:

    Slightly late, but thanks 😉

  14. Pingback: New GM autos for sale – auto insurance coverage provided | Marathi Filmy

  15. Tandy says:

    Many thanks for this web page, can happily declare
    we currently have a steam shower of our own and we think it’s great

  16. Jerilyn says:

    I always used to read paragraph in news papers but now as I am a user
    of web so from now I am using net for articles or reviews,
    thanks to web.

  17. chili recipe says:

    These might even be honey, smooth peanut butter, jam or marmalade, curry
    source, crab paste, tomato puree, liquidised fruits or liquidised liver; look into why you are doing
    this and why you are choosing these substances (see my ebooks.
    com, the first and only interactive cooking portal that highlights Filipino regional food recipes.
    You’ll be able to cook a lot of meals not having adding heat for your definitely scorching apartment or house.

  18. film horor says:

    Hi, I do believe this is an excellent blog. I stumbledupon it 😉 I’m going to come
    back once again since i have bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help other people.

  19. Definitely believe that which you said. Your favorite justification seemed to be on the
    web the simplest thing to be aware of. I say to you,
    I certainly get irked while people consider worries that they just
    don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the
    top and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect
    , people can take a signal. Will likely be back to get more.
    Thanks

  20. 163.32.65.3 says:

    Howdy! This article couldn’t be written much better! Going
    through this post reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He continually kept talking about this. I am going to forward this post to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a great read. I appreciate
    you for sharing!

  21. But remember, beautiful healthy skin is a reflection of
    the care you give it, both inside and out. The thing that causes dark circles is leaky
    blood vessels. Depending on the cream you choose, they can provide a number of
    benefits and results.

  22. GIF saved at 256 colors should be reduced (as much as possible) to 128, 64 or 32 colours without comprising image quality.

    Among the lots and variety available, Fajas Squeem
    Body Shapers have gained a vast fan following. Dieting and weight loss can be a very
    strenuous and emotional experience so having a connection to your “trainer” helps
    you on that journey to a newer healthier you.

  23. Thanks in favor of sharing such a nice idea, post is good, thats why i
    have read it entirely

  24. Everything is very open with a really clear clarification of the challenges.
    It was definitely informative. Your website is very useful.
    Many thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

