A better red meat?


I’ve made many changes in my life, most relating to exercise habits and the way I eat.  I’ve never been big on red meat but on occasion I do crave a nice filet mignon or a good burger.  However, this is pretty rare.  (Well, until recently.)

Over the past few years, I’d heard quite a bit about bison.  I’d seen it on a menu here and there, noticed it had been offered at events, in place of a regular beef burger, and heard many friends give it rave reviews.  I, however, wasn’t interested in trying it.  I’m not sure why.  I mean, really, what’s the difference between sinking your teeth into a juicy beef patty or a bison burger?  Not much…right?  Wrong!

Last weekend my husband and I decided to give it a shot.  We drove out to Gunpowder Bison & Trading Co. in Monkton and picked out a couple filets.  I also picked up some preparation suggestions and a pamphlet to read about bison meat.  The store was very nice and our daughter really enjoyed seeing the bison roaming on the farm.  It was a cool little trip.

On the ride home, I read through the information I had picked up, learning some pretty interesting facts about the meat I was about to try.  The main reason I had never tried bison was due to the myth I had heard in the past – The meat tastes “gamey”.  I was about to find out that this was not the case at all and, in fact, it has a fuller and richer flavor than ordinary beef. 

According to the information I picked up at the Trading Company, Gunpowder Bison are farm raised and naturally fed.  No additives or hormones are used and everything is USDA inspected.  They also dry age their meat, for 21 days, to ensure customers are receiving premium pieces of meat.  What I didn’t realize, prior to reading the pamphlet I picked up, was the differences between bison and other lean proteins.  The following was included in the literature and I found it to be quite interesting, so I figured I’d share it:

Long story made short, my husband and I grilled our bison filet mignon (with the simple marinade recommended in the “Cooking Tips” I picked up) and thoroughly enjoyed every bite.  I even saved half so I could eat my new favorite protein for lunch the next day.  Since then, we’ve grilled bison for fajitas and have enjoyed our best burger yet!  I’m a huge fan of bison and I’m not sure I’ll ever go back to eating regular old beef again.

Have you tried bison yet?  Maybe it’s time.  Go check out Gunpowder Bison & Trading Co. at 1270 Monkton Rd. or online at www.gunpowderbison.com.  Just like it says in the brochure… “Great Taste and Naturally Nutritious”.

Carri Nelsen

Do you have a ‘Wellness Wedsneday’ question for Carri? 

Send it to blogs@thezonemag.com and we’ll try to get your question answered in an upcoming post.

About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Wellness Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

