Good carbs of the bready kind


CARBS!  Who doesn’t like carbs?  I’m sure there are folks out there, but I’m not one of them.  I eat one with each of my four meals during the day.  My final meal doesn’t include one, but you bet you’ll find one with each of the others.  Did she say FIVE MEALS?!? We’ll go into the whole “why and how do you eat FIVE meals a day” some other time.  Perhaps we’ll also talk about what those meals look like. 

OK, now let me start the actual meat of this segment by saying… I am NOT a nutritionist, nor do I play one on TV.  What you are about to read is information about some of my personal preferences, based on some research I have done and recommendations I have been given.  With that said, I’m going to share a few things this week about some changes I’ve made to my diet that I feel are pretty smart modifications. 

I recommend you read and perhaps try to change your eating habits for the better, as well.  And, yep, you guessed it… We’re gonna talk about a few thing that fall into the category of carbohydrates – bread & rice.

In the past year, I’ve changed quite a bit in regards to my health and wellness.  One of the major changes I made is to my diet, and specifically in regards to the carbs I eat.  I used to be a solid 100% whole wheat bread kinda gal.  Nothing wrong with that, right?  Well, yes and no.  In comparison to white bread, I’m much better off that way.  White bread can have a tendency to increase insulin levels and lead you to fat gain.  If that’s what you’re looking for, white bread’s the one for you.  Me?  Not so much (since I recently learned I’m super high risk/pre-diabetic).  So, whole wheat over white?  Yes.  ?  And, what over whole wheat?  EZEKIEL!  It’s my new friend, in the form of sandwich bread, English muffins and pitas. 

What, you may be asking, is Ezekiel bread?  It’s bread that’s made of organic sprouted whole grains and legumes.  It’s a bread whose protein is a complete protein, with a low glycemic index and a stamp of approval for diabetics.  It is void of flour, even the better wheat flour, found in your whole wheat bread.  I found it a bit “interesting” at first, but now I can’t eat a regular old piece of whole wheat bread without wishing it was my Sesame Ezekiel bread.  Check it out.  You might just like it.  Hey, I’ve turned my husband into a fan!  (Still workin’ on my four-year old though.)

If you change one carb, you might as well change them all, right?  Change number two – white rice to brown rice.  Why?  Brown rice is a whole grain due to the fact that its bran covering is not removed as happens when turning brown rice into white.  With the bran still intact, it has about triple the fiber of white rice and a few more nutrients, like magnesium and zinc.  I find its nutty flavor and chewy texture quite a bit more appealing than the fluffier white.  It is similar in carbs, protein and calories, but just a bit better for you.  Give it a shot!  Maybe it’s for you, too.

That’s what I’ve got for you this week.  Now go out and see if these changes are things you can incorporate into your healthy lifestyle.  If they’re not your thing, that’s just fine.  Maybe we’ll find you something else.  But, before you give up, give them a chance to grow on you.  Just like I tell my Body Pumpers… It takes a few weeks to get it down; eventually it will be second nature.

Carri Nelsen

Do you have a ‘Wellness Wedsneday’ question for Carri? 

Send it to blogs@thezonemag.com and we’ll try to get your question answered in an upcoming post. 

About The Zone Magazine

The FREE, all digital, local magazine focusing on good news in Northern Baltimore County, Harford County & Southern PA. Visit our website.
This entry was posted in Wellness Wednesdays and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good carbs of the bready kind

  1. Pingback: Cleaning up Your Diet | The Zone Magazine

  2. Where can you buy Ezekiel bread in the Hereford Zone?

  3. Carri says:

    Laurie – You can get it @ Wegman’s in the natural food freezer section, Graul’s carries a limited variety, and both Giant’s (Hunt Valley & Shrewsbury) have it, again, in the frozen/health food section.

Leave a Reply

